1/5/09 Board Minutes
written by matt grose   
wednesday, 07 january 2009 10:21



JANUARY 5, 2009


The regular School Board meeting for Independent School District #317 was held January 5, 2009 at 6:00 PM in the Deer River High School Media Center. Chairperson Anne Gardner called the meeting to order and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance. Members in attendance included: Anne Gardner, Lee Pederson, Brad Box, Sarah Bellefy, Nancy Adams-Hulbert and Victor Williams.


Administrators present included: Supt. Matt Grose, Carol Risberg, Business Manager, Brent Colligan, High School Principal, Amy Galatz, Elementary Principal and Sean Martinson, Activities Director. Newspaper reporter, Greg Lindahl was in attendance along with Paulette Ojanen, recorder.


Mr. Grose then asked the three newly elected board members (Anne Gardner, Brad Box and Sarah Bellefy) to stand and recite the Oath of Office.


Election of officers: Motion to elect Victor Williams as Chair, Anne Gardner as Vice Chair was made by N. Adams-Hulbert, seconded by B. Box. Motion carried unanimously. (MCU hereafter). Motion by V. Williams to elect Nancy Adams-Hulbert as Clerk, seconded by L. Pederson. MCU. Motion to elect L. Pederson as Treasurer made by N. Adams-Hulbert, seconded by B. Box. MCU.


V. Williams then took over the meeting as Chair.


The Designations, Authorizations and Appointments for 2009 will be as follows:


Official district depositories: Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund (MSDLAF), Woodland Bank of Deer River (Motion N. Adams-Hulbert/second A Gardner. MCU)

Official district publication: Tabled at this time – Board asked Supt. Grose to explore options.

(Motion A. Gardner/second B. Box. MCU)

Authorize electronic transfers: Matt Grose, Supt., Carol Risberg, Business Manager, Chery Ross, Administrative Assistant. (Motion N. Adams-Hulbert / second A. Gardner. MCU)

Authorize Supt. to utilize legal firms: Sara Ruff, Attorney at Law; Ratwik, Roszak, Bergstrom, Maloney & Bartell; Knutson, Flynn & Deans; John Colosimo, Attorney at Law. (Motion B. Box. / second L. Pederson. MCU)

Set regular Board meetings & dates: First Monday of the month (except September due to holiday) at 5:45 PM Open Forum, 6:00 PM Board Meeting in the DRHS Media Center with exception of April/October at North School and May/September at King School. Changes scheduled as necessary. (motion A. Gardner, second N. Adams-Hulbert. MCU)

Set school board salaries: Current salary is $2000/yr,($2300/yr chairperson) with three absences allowed from regular meetings and a 1/12 deduction for all other absences. School Board related absences are not included in three-absence total. Meetings would be reimbursed at $40 per meeting with a maximum of $120 for all day meetings or over night stay. (Motion to accept by A. Gardner / second by N. Adams-Hulbert. MCU)

Appoint Board negotiators: Victor Williams, Anne Gardner, Nancy Adams.-Hulbert

Appoint Meet & Confer reps: Brad Box, Lee Pederson, Sarah Bellefy

Appoint Legislative Liaison: Anne Gardner, Victor Williams/Alternate

Appoint Rep to Community Ed Advisory Council: Lee Pederson

Appoint Transportation Committee: Victor Williams, Lee Pederson

Appoint Health & Safety Committee: Brad Box, Sarah Bellefy

Appoint Budget & Finance Committee: Nancy A-Hulbert, Anne Gardner, Brad Box

Appoint MN State High School League Representative: Victor Williams

Appoint Board Development Committee: Anne Gardner, Lee Pederson,Nancy Adams-Hulbert

Appoint Policy Review Committee: Anne Gardner/Sarah Bellefy, Nancy Adams-Hulbert/B. Box

Appoint Infinity (online learning) Representative: Brad Box, Lee Pederson/Alternate

<span style="margin-top: 0px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; margin-left: 0px; padding-top: 0px; padding-right: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; padding-left: 0px; border-top-width: 0px; border-right-width: 0px; border-bottom-width: 0px; border-left-width: 0px; bor

Back   Back